Behold the Lamb Passover Web Supplement

Gluten-Free Matzah?

Gluten is a protein found in such grains as wheat, barley and rye, and these grains are used in all manner of foods many of us eat regularly—the most obvious being bread. Lately, there has been a marked increase in the number of people being diagnosed with a genuine sensitivity or intolerance to gluten, including those who have developed Celiac disease—an auto immune disorder that causes the body to attack itself when gluten is ingested. So if some people—like Esther—can no longer safely eat matzah, how can they keep the feast?

According to Rabbinic halachah, there are five grains that are acceptable for making matzah, only one of which is possible to get gluten-free: oats. So, apparently, one matzah option for gluten-free (GF) dieters is to make their matzah with oats.

However, Scripture does not appear to limit the kinds of grain that are acceptable for matzah-making, except where the consecration of priests is concerned—and then, only wheat is permitted. So, if matzah may be made from any kind of grain, this opens up a world of possibility for the GF community. In our view, bread made from any kind and combination of grains is therefore acceptable for matzah, as long as the bread is still unleavened.

So give Esther’s GF Matzah recipe a try, and keep the feast! They may not be “kosher” by rabbinic standards, but by any other standards, they are unquestionably safe and delicious!

For more GF Recipes by Esther, go to

Gluten Free Boxed-Matzah Substitute

This particular matzah is intended as a direct replacement for store-bought boxed matzah.  I only use it to make Matzah Toffee (see “Behold the Lamb” page 48).  The other matzah recipes from “Behold the Lamb” can also be made gluten free by substituting a GF flour blend and adding 1/2 tsp. of xanthan gum per cup of flour to the dry ingredients.

•  2 cups GF flour blend (whatever mix you already use, or my GF All Purpose Flour Substitute)
•  1 tsp. xanthan gum
•  3/4 cup water

  1. Preheat oven to 475 degrees.  A pizza stone preheated in the oven yields best results.
  2. Combine flour and xanthan gum.
  3. Pour in water, stir, and then mix/knead with hands until thoroughly combined.
  4. Divide dough into eight equal pieces.
  5. Place one piece of dough on a smooth surface (counter top, large wooden cutting board, silicone pastry mat, etc.) that has been lightly dusted with gluten free flour. With a rolling pin, roll each piece as thin as possible (keep the rest covered with a moist towel or paper towel until needed).  Another method of rolling the dough is to cut the top off of a plastic zip-top bag, and then cut open both sides of the bag.  Place the dough between the two layers of plastic, and then roll out the dough.
  6. Prick entire surface of dough with fork.
  7. Lift very carefully and place in oven on pizza stone or pan.
  8. Bake for two minutes (dough will form small bubbles), and then flip.  Bake two more minutes until lightly browned.
  9. Cool on rack and store in a zip-top bag.